h1

A room of one’s bibliography

July 6, 2010

10 comments

  1. Does this mean you’ve finished the main text?


  2. Nope. Just that I’ve stuffed all books needed to finish into my office and I’m locking myself in here until it’s all done.


  3. Timing yourself with an egg-timer must be a good motivator! Я всего десять минут пишу, а уже такой крутой!


  4. Ten minutes? that would account for the hard-boiled quality of your work [rimshot.]


  5. Rootless — Buster is probably too much of a curmudgeon to tell you this, but you and I made more or less the same joke (or same pun, anyway) — I did it in Russian, you did it in English. Aye, verily, great minds think alike :).


  6. No, no, no. If I were being curmudgeonly I’d say: “If you think that’s an egg timer, I think you are criminally over-cooking your eggs.”

    Anyway, it is very clearly a 250-word timer.


  7. I was sitting at my desk, pecking at some corn I keep in the bottom drawer with my .38 Special and eyeballing the centerfold in Poultry Fancier when she walked in. “You the private op?” she clucked. “Who wants to know?” I parried. “The name’s Rougette Hen,” she said, bobbing her head back and forth in a way that made me want to crow, even though it was almost 5 pm. “But my friends call me Little Red. Are you a friend?”


  8. what are you searching in russia?i hope you go back africa soon,Russia is very dangerous place my friend


  9. Hey there. I was doing a search on Eugene Gordon and found your blog on him. His wife June was my father’s cousin (my family is from Montreal) and my family visited them in their apartment when I was about ten years old. I have two of his watercolors that I treasure and am just starting to look for information about his life. Can you point me in the right direction(s)? I know that they had a son but don’t know his name or what happened to him.


  10. Hey I came across you on MTBE. I am doing research on Black Russians for an article and wanted to talk to you about your experiences. i have been to Moscow twice and I study Russian at UCL in London.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

